PDA

View Full Version : ULS 4.6 or epilog helix 24?

Jim Reinhard
06-11-2011, 6:22 PM
I have been going back and forth between the 2 and would like opinins .I am new to this and want to start out with a larger platform where I will not have to upgrade.The ULS rep is very helpful and I would get great support for starting out.The problem is the price is more and air compressor is not even included.I have read a few posts of people using air brush compressors and blowers from harborg freight .What ones would be recomended as I can save money and go with them .The epilog incudes them but support people are far from me.
Any input would be apreciated.

Scott Shepherd
06-11-2011, 7:42 PM
Jim, I owned both those machines at the same time and wrote a fairly extensive review comparing the two here :

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?67576-Epilog-Helix-vs.-Universal-PLS-4.60&highlight=PLS4.60

If you have specific questions, shoot me a Private Message and i'll be happy to discuss any of it with you, via message or in a phone call.

Frank Corker
06-12-2011, 6:23 AM
Jim as stated Steve did a very comprehensive article on his encounters with the machines. I am the owner of a Helix and I can only attest to the satisfaction I received on more than one occasion when dealing with Epilog, I live in the UK and the distance has never been an issue when it comes to rectifying any problems you might encounter. In my opinion they are first rate.

Jim Reinhard
06-12-2011, 9:40 AM
Thanks was a very informative post.What options are people using for air compressors .The price for the air compressor is high from ULS ,Epilog not so bad but have read you can just use airbrush compressor for them.Also what inexpensive blower options are everyone using.
Thanks
Jim Reinhard

David Fairfield
06-12-2011, 9:58 AM