PDA

View Full Version : Handplane repair

D.McDonnel "Mac"
06-10-2011, 9:40 PM
A Good Neighbor, knowing I was a woodworker, brought over a milk crate with several derelict handplanes in serious disrepair. A friend of his was disposing of them and he diverted them to me. Four old Bailey's in bad shape and a bedrock 603. No blades, chip breakers or lever caps on any of them. I have a few old stanley planes from which I can steel the blade and lever cap. The 603 cleaned up okay and I went to put a front knob on from the milk crate.............. arrrrrr...... the hole in the body is stripped out big time! I thought about drilling and tapping it to 1/4 - 20 but it's too wallowed out for that next up is 5/16 and I think the casting has plenty of meat to accommodate. Then I'd make a rod by welding a 5/16 thread on the bottom and a #12 piece on top to accommodate the proper knob nut.

That's my idea to make this a user plane. any better ideas?

David Keller NC
06-10-2011, 9:54 PM
I'm not really up to speed on heli-coils, but it occurs to me that might be the simpler option if you can get one that size. A slightly different take but a similar theme might be to drill out the boss and braze in a threaded insert to accomodate a 1/4-20 threaded rod.

John Tallyn
06-10-2011, 11:23 PM
I don't normally use the front knob, personally I wouldn't worrying about it.

Zach England
06-11-2011, 12:13 AM
If it is just a user plane and is already pretty beat I'd say there is no harm in drilling through the sole and counter-sinking a screw and attaching the knob with a small nut. It is crude, but it will work as long as the screw does not protrude.

Jim Koepke
06-11-2011, 3:46 AM
The difficult part about doing this right is the original tap was 12-20. They are available, but you will have to buy a few taps to get to the minimum order of the place that sells them. Then you will need to grind one of them to make a bottoming tap.