PDA

View Full Version : Help with tree IDing

Dustin Lane
06-09-2011, 12:48 PM
I've got three dead trees on my property and every identification site I look at focuses more on the leaf structure. I was hoping someone here could help me with identifying these based mostly on the bark. My best guess was oak and maple. I'm also looking for advice on what to do with them; cut them down and burn them?; hope someone will take them away for free?; cut them into boards and maybe use some day? I have zero experience in this area and so I don't know which route is going to be a waste of time or money.
Thanks for your help.

Dan Hintz
06-09-2011, 1:03 PM
Turners would likely take all of it if given the chance...

First one looks like Sugar Maple.
Second one could be White Oak.

Todd Willhoit
06-09-2011, 10:27 PM
You didn't mention when the trees died, or whether they had ever produced nuts.

The first looks like black walnut.
The second looks like shagbark hickory.

Iowa City and the surrounding areas are covered with walnut and hickory.

Steven Green
06-10-2011, 2:55 AM
The first one looks like Hackberry and the second like Hickory. I've recently had a lot of experience with hackberry.

David Thompson 27577
06-10-2011, 3:00 AM
I'll take a guess -- the first one looks like the bark of a white oak. The segmenting and twisting of the second looks like maple.

(And my guess is probably worth every penny that you paid for it!)

John Shuk
06-10-2011, 8:54 AM
First one is a shagbark hickory, second one is cherry, can't really tell about the last picture so I won't try. For what it's worth I'm not guessing on the first two.

Pete Bradley
06-10-2011, 10:13 AM
I'm going to say that the first one is a silver maple or sugar maple (I don't think it's shaggy enough to be shagbark hickory). Any of them would do fine in the fireplace. :-)

Conrad Fiore
06-10-2011, 11:23 AM
Dustin,