PDA

View Full Version : Dieing to dye this bowl

Allen Howell
06-04-2011, 9:30 PM
I’m posting this on several forums, so please, if you have some advice don’t ignore my plea just because you’ve seen it elsewhere. Thanks in advance.
I have a Cherry bowl with a wavy rim and I want to dye the top with a blue dye. This will be my first attempt at using dyes, so I have zero experience to draw from. I would like to have some experienced folks give me advice on a couple of things. First, which type of dye (not necessarily brand) will work best with Cherry. I want a fairly deep blue color. I plan on using a pie plate to put the dye in and then dropping the bowl into for ____ minutes. How does that sound?
Any other advice is also appreciated.

John Keeton
06-04-2011, 9:37 PM
Allen, my first concerns would be that the dye will quickly bleed up the bowl from the surface line - and may not do so in a consistent fashion, leaving you with a "ragged edge" to your dyed area. Secondly, the blue on the cherry will almost certainly give you a purple cast from the inherent red of the cherry. I would think you would do better with taping off the area to be colored, and using an acrylic paint in an airbrush.

Bob Bergstrom
06-04-2011, 9:59 PM
John's right in that It would start to bleed. Alcohol and water dyes penetrate in seconds, not minutes. If a sharp line is needed mask it off and whether you use paint or dye an air brush is the best and most feasible way to go. An airbrush allow much more flexibility in application and fading colors. A paint brush will work if a sharp line is wanted and it is masked off. Also the use of shellac as a way of preventing penetration can be sometimes used. I would practice, practice and practice on some cherry flat stock or a discarded bowl.

Jim Burr
06-04-2011, 11:44 PM