PDA

View Full Version : Groomsman gift Ideas?

Andrew Gibson
06-02-2011, 10:31 AM
Hi all. I will be getting married an just about a year. We have been doing a lot of wedding planning and I have started thinking about groomsman gifts... I have 6... How can women have so many friends that are required to be in weddings.

But I digress, and mean no offense to the fairer sex.

So I have been thinking about this one and the first thing that came to mind were flasks... then I thought maybe a nice pocket knife... Then I cam across pocket watch/knife sets and liked that idea... problem is because there are so many cost becomes a concern.

I would like to get the guys something nice that will last, but also keep the price under $50... and as far under that as possible without being a total cheapskate, but they all know I make furniture currently for a living so I'm not made of green.

Any ideas would be appricated... one good thing about getting a jump on this stuff is I have time on my side.

Bob Riefer
06-02-2011, 11:00 AM
I was similarly stuck with the "yikes, how do I come up with 6 groomsmen" issue... In the end, I talk to one of them 10 years later, since the other 5 were real stretches for me. Shrug.

Anways, I got everyone an old style pocket watch with their initials engraved. I didn't think anyone would use it, but thought it'd be the type of thing that they'd see in their drawer every now and again and remember their part in an important day. The cost was in line with what you're looking to do I believe.

edit: If I were to have the same issue today (now being a budding woodworker) I'd make each a keepsake box. Everyone needs a place to keep stuff, and the personal touch would be very nice. Order an initials plate for the top of each one.

Prashun Patel
06-02-2011, 11:00 AM
I'm guessing since this is in the Off Topic forum, you mean to purchase a gift, but I submit this: