PDA

View Full Version : OK OK - I've narrowed it down to (2) spray guns ... HELP

John Snyder
04-17-2003, 3:54 PM
This is a follow up to my recent post ... to recap, I'm just getting into spray finishing & only have a small compressor; so, for now am gonna learn the ropes on a mini or detail gun. I've eliminated the Porter Cable unit sold at Lowe's, as it only comes with an 0.8mm nozzle tip, which I've been told is too small for shooting oil based polyurethanes (?) As far as I can determine, these are the two best moderately priced units on the market - one HVLP, one NON-HVLP ... any advice as to which way I should go would be greatly appreciated:

1. Astro Pneumatic HVLP 1.2mm tip $79.99 (should I go with the plastic or steel cup ?):

http://www.mytoolstore.com/astro/astpai04.html#4020/12

Or ...

2. Walcom ES/RV (NON-HVLP) 1.0mm is the largest tip available $99.00 (scroll down to the bottom of the page):

http://www.homesteadfinishing.com/htdocs/asturomec.htm

Thanks !! JS

Eric Apple - Central IN
04-17-2003, 4:24 PM
Man those are tiny guns. 4oz cups don't go far. But the small size is great for detail work. I would not buy either for use as a primary gun to finish average furniture size pieces. Maybe for end tables, or lathe turnings, guitars this size would work. For $199 there's the Asturo BBS at homestead.

Two other points, you probably don't want to shoot poly. It makes a mess and takes hours to dry. Use spray finishes that dry in 15 minutes. The BBS uses 17 PSI@7CFM, I think that is about the same or less air then 4CFM@41 PSI. But I don't know the math. Both are tiny amounts of air.

Check out the main page.

Here's the text ( I only spend money at homestead don't make any, so I guess this is ok)

The Asturo BBS HVLP Spray Gun requires only 17 psi inlet pressure and features a lightweight body with plastic cup. Air consumption is approximately 7 cfm. Standard configuration of 1.7mm will handle all lacquers and clears as well as stain.