PDA

View Full Version : do you think my beal buffer would work for this?

jared herbert
05-30-2011, 10:51 PM
I have a pair of prescription safety glasses that I only use for shop work and my outside work, I am a farmer. They are bifocals and are plastic lenses of some sort, not glass. There is no correction in the top portion of the lenses. They have developed a lot of scratches, some are very small but it is like looking though a haze. I took them to my eye clinic to see if they could polish them out and they said they couldnt. I was just wondering if anyone had ever used the white diamond on the buffing wheels to polish out scratches or if there were any other suggestions about how to clean them up. It would seem to me that there should be some way to clean up these scratches rather than buying a new pair of glasses. thanks in advance Jared

Steve Schlumpf
05-31-2011, 12:05 AM
Jared - I have not tried to buff out plastic lenses on glasses but I have used it to buff out acrylic and it does a great job on that! If you can't see through the glasses anyway - what do you have to lose? When I buff my acrylic finials - I use just a touch of white diamond and very light pressure - with the lathe running around 1000 rpm. Good luck!

mickey cassiba
05-31-2011, 12:09 AM
Jared, I've been wearing poly carbonate lenses for years, and when they are scratched(IMO)they are scratched. I have not found any way to restore them...If you find something...let me know. I've got a couple pair that will still work with my feeble eyes.

Harry Robinette
05-31-2011, 9:04 AM
Jared