PDA

View Full Version : Architectural Models

Larry Folk
05-30-2011, 6:22 PM
I thought that I would post a work in progress.
Since I am an architect one of the many reasons for getting the laser was to make architectural models. I started this test project with one of my existing designs that I had done for a local builder. I took my 2d cadd files and exported them to SketchUp to create a 3d model. I did this to create all of the parts that I would need to cut the model out. With the 3d file I was able to make notches and tabs on each piece so the model could be snapped together. After working everything out I exported a 2d dwg file to Corel for the laser. All I had to do was to nest the parts and cut.
This model is made from 1/8" baltic birch plywood for the structure and 1/8" acrylic for the windows. I am using .024 thick "PloyBak" that I have 3d engraved on to create siding, roofing and stone. The model scale is 1/4"=1'-0".
I am interested if anyone else is doing this and if they have any tips or tricks of the trade.

Dean Fowell
05-30-2011, 7:45 PM
Larry,

First thing that's awesome nicely done I have not made a model yet but will be in a few weeks, I will need tips from you.

Dee Gallo
05-30-2011, 8:19 PM
Wow, I've only made models with foamboard and paint - wood looks great! Can't wait to see the finished product, with siding, roofing and stone - ought to be killer!

Keep us posted, Larry!

Hi to Judy, dee

Sotos Patistas
05-30-2011, 9:06 PM
I like your model, nice work. Yes, slot and tab is the way to go.

I've done a couple of buildings, both quite different and employed quite different methods and materials. Happy to trade info and techniques. right now I'm working on the second of two topo/architectural models for the Army. The scale on those is 1" = 100'. 25' tall buildings are 1/4" tall. I often have to make the determination that an object or structure is simply TSTM (too small to model).
196467196466I196464196463196462196461196460196459