PDA

View Full Version : Deciding on a Japanese Smoothing Plane help.

Tony Shea
05-28-2011, 5:28 PM
I have made the decesion finally that I want a Japanese smoothing plane. There is something about them that facinates me in just watching and reading about them. Japanese tools in general seem to carry a different aura about them that I like. But their planes I have no personal experience with other than a Muji smoother that is ok.

My trouble is in picking one out. There are just endless options about from an endless amount of makers. Two aspects that I do have is I want something 65mm-70mm and of Blue Steel. Supper Blue steel would be nice but certainly doesn't need to be. I mainly work with hardwoods such as cherry, maple, oak, etc. But do use a few exotic very hard hardwoods like cocobolo's, bubinga, rosewoods, etc.

The place that really gets hard for me to make a decesion on is the brand/blacksmith/maker of the plane. There are many of them out there and I just have no idea of the reputable ones such as I know LN and LV make great western planes.

My budget is in the $300-$400 range and less if there is something real nice below this. I've searched around here a bit before posting this but really couldn't find much for discussion in way of which brands I should be looking at. Any help, opinions and experiences would be great.

Pam Niedermayer
05-28-2011, 6:51 PM
I have made the decesion finally that I want a Japanese smoothing plane....

I'd email Stu Tierny and tell him exactly what you said (actually, he may have already read it). My guess is he'll recommend a Tsunesaburo plane, which is very good (I have several and really like them); but he may have others to recommend.

Tuning skills are important, but there's lots of help available here.