PDA

View Full Version : Any opinions on the Freud LM74R010 Glue Line Rip blade?

dennis thompson
05-26-2011, 7:09 AM
I have a very small Ryobi Jointer that works OK but is tough to use for long boards. I don't have room for a real jointer so I'm thinking about buying the "Freud LM7R010 10 inch 30 tooth TCG glue line Rip blade with Permashield coating." It's $56 at Amazon.
Does anyone have any experience with this blade? would you recommend it or any other blade? I have the Ridgid R4512 table saw with a Woodworker II combo blade (40 tooth?) in it now. I mostly will use it to make tabletops.
Thanks
Dennis

Ed Labadie
05-26-2011, 8:43 AM
I've been using that blade for several years now. Very pleased with it, no complaints.

Ed

Bill Huber
05-26-2011, 9:02 AM
I have that blade as my rip blade and love it, it cuts very nice and the parts are ready for glue up with nothing else done.

I also have a small jointer but as of late I find that I am using my router table more and more to do jointing with. I just find that it is easier to hold a 6" board flat on the table as to holding it on its edge on the jointer.

Myk Rian
05-26-2011, 9:52 AM
I use my glue line all the time. Nice blade.

Steve Schoene
05-26-2011, 9:54 AM
If you have already at least one STRAIGHT edge on a board, you can rip it with such a blade, and then glue it to another creating a joint that will hold together. BUT, it won't be a really fine joint, by which I mean completely invisible even at close range, except that some grain lines end and others begin. That is -- NO GLUE line. To achieve that you need a jointer or a hand plane and, whichever you use, some degree of finesse.

I very seldom joint long boards. It is almost always best to joint boards after they have been cut to rough size.

Jerome Hanby
05-26-2011, 10:38 AM
That's a better price than I paid at Woodcraft. It's a great blade and I've done glue-ups directly off its cuts.

Kyle Iwamoto
05-26-2011, 12:08 PM