PDA

View Full Version : Help (achieving proper bit depth using guide bushings on a router)>>>

Kirk Butler
05-24-2011, 10:21 AM
:confused:

I'm new to the world of woodworking & recently purchased my first router. I went w/ the RidgidR29302, mainly cause it came w/ both a fixed and plunge base as well as the price. Additionaly, I've purchased the PC4210 dovetail jig.

My problem is this:
With the bushing guide in place (and locknut secured), I cannot set the bit to the desired depth (only able to set to about 1/4" deep).
When I lower the depth adjustment down, the process is stopped @about 1/4" deep(bit tip below bottom lip of guide). While lowering bit it APPEARS that the depth is stopped b/c the collet nut is to big and bottoming on the locking nut for guide. I [I]THINK[I] if the collet nut was only bout 1/2", that would allow for another 1/2" of depth.

FYI, I'm using the 1/2"dovetail bit w/ a normal 1&1/2" shank length that came w/ the jig. Also, the template is 1/4" thick and the guide bushing is only 3/16" thick so, it is not a matter of the bushing needed to be grinded down a little as some guide bushings come w a wider guide lip.Is it possible that I need to use a 1&3/4" length shank bit when using guide bushings on my particular router?

Thoughts?

Has anyone else had any experience in this kinda problem?

I hope this makes sense.

TYVM in advance for any help!

Terry Beadle
05-24-2011, 10:41 AM