PDA

View Full Version : 12"-13" planer suggestions

Jim Colombo
05-24-2011, 9:00 AM
I'm space & budget limited and in the market for a bench top planer in the $400 price range. I've been looking at the Ridgid and DeWalt models but I've seen some threads with good words about the Craftsman stuff.
I'm a hobbyist so I don't need commercial grade equipment but I still want the best quality I can get.
I'd appreciate your opinions and comments.

Cary Falk
05-24-2011, 9:19 AM
If I was buying a lunchbox today I would buy teh Ridgid. It gets favorable remarks from it's owners and is reasonably priced.

Jerome Hanby
05-24-2011, 9:51 AM
If I was buying a lunchbox today I would buy teh Ridgid. It gets favorable remarks from it's owners and is reasonably priced.
I've got the Ridgid and it's done all I've asked of it...

Timothy Wolf
05-24-2011, 9:57 AM
The Ridgid is very well priced and gets pretty solid reviews from Woodworking magazines. I haven't used mine alot but it does a very nice job in my opinion. Depending on where you are you might check craigslist first, I got mine new in box for $200 from someone who bought it but never used it. If you buy it new the warranty can't really be beat. BTW I would steer clear of the Craftsman, I saw several bad reviews from the same woodworking magazines.

Gene Howe
05-24-2011, 9:57 AM
I just replaced a 12" Delta with a 13" Delta 22-590.
Watch for sales. I got mine for $430 + free shipping through Amazon.
I'm very happy with it.

John TenEyck
05-24-2011, 10:47 AM