PDA

View Full Version : Router plane question

Andy Margeson
05-19-2011, 9:24 AM
I'm about to purchase a router plane from LV or LN. Both make standard and small sizes and I'm unsure which one to buy. Right now, I think that the primary use will be hinge mortises on cabinets but you know how it is. Once you become familiar with a tool, you find all sorts of new uses for it. It appears that the smaller versions are best for routing out hinge mortises but the standard sizes are more versatile. I'd like to buy the larger one, but will it work OK for hinge mortises?

Thanks,

Andy

Derek Cohen
05-19-2011, 10:25 AM
Hi Andy

Without any doubt, the LV large router is the one to go for, especially now that there is a new depth stop and an even wider selection of blades.

I've been using the depth stop for several months (testing it pre-production), and it is a huge ... huge ... improvement over the original version. As part of my evaluation for LV I used the router plane to mortice a really tiny hinge ...

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Planes/LV%20planes/Depth%20stops/1.jpg

Here is the hinge alongside the (pre-production) depth stop ...

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Planes/LV%20planes/Depth%20stops/2.jpg

Here is the LV router routing the mortice ... nice and easy ...

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Planes/LV%20planes/Depth%20stops/5.jpg

And the finished product ..

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a262/Derek50/Planes/LV%20planes/Depth%20stops/6.jpg

If it can do something as tiny as this, then it can do any hinge mortice.

Here is a link to a review of the LV Router plane. I did add a comparison with the LN version, which is also an excellent plane. However the LV is definitely better. Comments about the depth stop were made prior to LV changing it over.

http://www.inthewoodshop.com/ToolReviews/The%20Veritas%20Router%20Plane.html

Regards from Perth

Derek

Mike Henderson
05-19-2011, 10:41 AM