PDA

View Full Version : Need help with Memorial Plaque

Jeff Wilkins
05-18-2011, 8:52 AM
Hi all,

I have never modified a picture for engraving and do not have a lot of time at this point to work at it. I am a teacher with finals coming up and I have this project that needs to get done soon. We had a guidance counselor pass away this year from cancer and the students are doing a memorial plaque for her. Here is what they gave me to work from. The is going to be in a display case with 1000 paper cranes hanging above it. I am thinking the text needs to be bigger, viewing distance will be about 4 feet. They want the picture to be an oval but I don't have a lot of skill with corel yet though I do have X5 installed. Any help would be greatly appreciated. We were thinking about lasering it on white acryllic and filling with blue or black paint. Any suggestions you have I will take as this is my first attempt at this. The picture will be about 6in tall. I think they want the plaque around 8x12 landscape. We usually use the laser for prototyping parts for engineering students. Thank you!

Jeff Wilkins
HSE High School

Mike Null
05-18-2011, 9:39 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6euLFPOuQH0&feature=related

Jeff

Everything you want to do can be done in PhotoPaint. Take a look at this tutorial by Alex Galvez it's not exactly what you want but may steer you in the right direction. I suggest you find his other tutorials as well. He is terrific.

Frank Corker
05-18-2011, 5:55 PM
Ok seeing as you are in a big hurry and it's an important one. This should get you enough to make a plaque. I have used an average font which most computers have in them. The image has been processed through photograv for engraving onto white acrylic and then you apply black paint over the top. I've included a slightly larger picture (also ready to engrave) should you choose to make the plaque bigger.