PDA

View Full Version : Auric Vessel

Matt Hutchinson
05-16-2011, 7:13 PM
Here's a piece I completed Sunday, something that's quite new to me in both form and technique required. This is my first attempt at gilding, and I learned a lot. I originally had planned on using regular leaf on the surfaces, but I like the look of the gold flake quite a bit.

I had to "settle" in a few areas (mainly the finish) cuz I was limited by a deadline, but I am quite pleased with the result. Plus, working with a piece of kiln dried wood allowed me to complete this piece within a few days. No drying of wet blanks and such. I think I like it. :D

Auric Vessel
5.75"x5.75"x16"
African Mahogany, African Blackwood, Metal Leaf

John Keeton
05-16-2011, 7:25 PM
Matt, when you posted your other thread, you gave us a sneak peek of this one!! I wondered when we would see the finished product.

This is quite an interesting piece, with a very "comfortable" feel to it. It is balanced and draws one's eye in to the object. When I first looked at it, I thought perhaps it needed some contrast in the body, but the more I look, the less I think that. The blackwood is a striking addition, and adds a lot to the overall look. Very unique!!

Is it hollowed? The throat appears to be recessed and I am curious as to whether the inside of the throat is painted or is the blackwood an "insert"?

Matt Hutchinson
05-16-2011, 7:39 PM
Thanks John!

I drilled the piece with a 1.5" forstner rather than attempting to hollow it. It may be drilled as deep as 9". I felt hollowing via turning was not really worth the effort, especially since the mouth was going to be quite small, but I wanted it to be able to function as a dry vase if desired. From a top view, you can see the mahogany on the inside. The Blackwood is only inset by about 1/8 of an inch using a tenon. The angle at which I took the photo must have been just barely low enough to not reveal the lighter mahogany on the inside.

Hutch

Steve Schlumpf