PDA

View Full Version : Pocket hole joints vs mortise & tenon joints

dennis thompson
05-16-2011, 10:20 AM
When I make joints using my Kreg pocket hole jig I get nice tight clean joints but feel that maybe I'm cheating? I'm building a kitchen table & have determined to use mortise & tenon joints. I've finished the first one & have to say it's not nearly as clean, squared up, without gaps, etc as my pocket hole joints. What do you use? Do you think the pocket hole joints are as strong as the mortise & tenon joints? Anyone else feel the same "guilt":o about pocket hole joints ? I'm just a hobbiest not a pro.
Thanks
Dennis

John TenEyck
05-16-2011, 10:27 AM
Pocket hole joints are fine for many non-structural applications, like connecting faceframes together, but I wouldn't use it someplace where strength is important during use, like table leg/apron joints. There, I would use a M&T. M&T joints aren't hard to make nice and tight as long as you start with square stock and set up your equipment to cut square. Those are usually the source for why joints don't fit together well. I mostly use mortise and loose tenon joints these days. I find them much easier and faster to cut, and the tenons always fit well w/o having to tweak them. You might consider that approach with your table.

jonathan eagle
05-16-2011, 11:00 AM
When I make joints using my Kreg pocket hole jig I get nice tight clean joints but feel that maybe I'm cheating? I'm building a kitchen table & have determined to use mortise & tenon joints. I've finished the first one & have to say it's not nearly as clean, squared up, without gaps, etc as my pocket hole joints. What do you use? Do you think the pocket hole joints are as strong as the mortise & tenon joints? Anyone else feel the same "guilt":o about pocket hole joints ? I'm just a hobbiest not a pro.
Thanks
Dennis