PDA

View Full Version : Newbie: Question about DNA soak?

Doug Palmer
05-15-2011, 10:39 PM
Hello All,

I have been lurking for a while and have a question. I have done quite a bit of wood working, but I am just getting into turning. I recently purchased a Nova 1624 and am still learning the basics. I am one to do a lot of reading before diving in too deep. I have read quite a bit about the DNA soak process and have read Dennis' tutorial as well as Steve's tutorial on Hollow Forms, which I think I am going to be very interested in.

My question is, "What is the reason or purpose for the DNA soak?" I have only recently turned my first couple of bowls from some logs I cut, but didn't do a DNA soak. Did I make a mistake? Is the DNA soak to keep the bowl from warping later? Is it only needed for green wood? What about air dried wood?

Also, if I wanted to make usable salad bowls, is there anything special I need to know to make them food safe?

Thanks in advance for any comments.

John Keeton
05-16-2011, 6:28 AM
Doug, there have been several threads recently on this process, but I think the consensus (if there is one!) seems to be that the DNA displaces the water in the wood, and when the drying process starts, the DNA evaporates at a quicker pace than does the water. It purportedly shortens the drying time, and reduces the propensity of the blank to crack and/or warp. However, there are many folks that do not use the DNA method, and there are also many that use other methods, including boiling, liquid dishwashing detergent, etc.

These methods are used only for green/wet wood. All commercial finishes are food safe once cured.

Steve Schlumpf
05-16-2011, 7:41 AM