PDA

View Full Version : Demolition done and Construction starts!

Patrick Galpin
05-14-2011, 4:07 PM
I thought I would chronicle the construction of my dream shop, hope fellow members find it (somewhat) interesting.

I have been woodworking for 30+ years, learned from my grandfather and dad, and have always wanted my dream workshop. For the last 13 years I have worked when I had the time in the summer in a 20*30 post and beam structure that was not insulated, had a very old wood burning stove, totally inadequate electrical service, and 7' 6" height under the beams. The space was such that I had to open the garage door to plane boards over 5' long and you can see below.

I wanted to save as much of the original barnboard, floor boards, posts and beams as possible so I hired two young guys and we stripped and dismantled the building, de-nailed all the saved wood and stacked it in my barn over a 4 day span. I'm not as young as I used to be, I found out. Oh, my aching back.

Our home is located north of Belleville, Ontario, 1 1/2 hours east of Toronto and sits on the great Canadian Shield, translation - lots of bedrock. Here is what we hit doing the first "scrape" of the ground to see what we are dealing with, bedrock 2-4 feet below ground.

One thing we discovered was the original hand dug well right in line where footing had to go. The well had 25' of water in it so 2 truck loads of gravel were dumped in to provide a solid base.

The foundation - part 2

Patrick Galpin
05-14-2011, 4:34 PM
Once we had the first scrape done, we found the bedrock dropped 5 feet, basically straight down, in the back corner of the site. The excavator dealt with the 4 ton “nuggets” they found (their term for car sized boulders) easily. The next issue was the water that came into the dig, running along the bedrock. A sump pump is dealing with that but I will have to put in a drain pipe and have it trenched to lower ground. That is going to hurt the budget!