PDA

View Full Version : Dark Stain - Flame Birch

Dustin Brown
05-10-2011, 12:47 PM
I did some searching but didn't come up with much. I'm building a modern style simple fireplace mantel for my mother. She wanted to use birch and apply a dark walnut type stain. She wants a fairly dark color to at least match the general shade of the cabinets in the adjoining dining room.

I was picking up some wood and found a couple boards that are a darker tone with some nice flame patterns in them. We were thinking about somehow trying to get a dark shade of brownish/black, but keep the flame pattern standing out a bit. I'm wondering if this is even possible. I'm fairly new to finishing, but every time I have stained a piece of wood that had some soft of flame type areas, I always end up with dark blotches where the figure was.

Does anyone know of a way to do this properly? I was thinking about something I faintly remember reading on a guitar forum. I believe this person may have applied a few coats of heavily thinned shellac, then sanded the surface down well. After that, used a dark die to tone the wood. I believe this left the figured wood sealed and didn't absorb much dye at all, leaving the figure defined. Does this sound about right?

Thanks!

Bob Wingard
05-10-2011, 3:37 PM