PDA

View Full Version : Maple and inlay and help please :)

Jeffrey coil
05-08-2011, 10:23 AM
Hello I am to the finishing phase of my poker table which is hard maple. The race track and riser I have inset some inlay that I would like to keep mostly un colored. The pedestal is a nice 10 inch claw foot.
Bit of background, I am a newb when it comes to finishing, I have only really used wipe on on stain and have sprayed top coats. I do not have a lot of experience with all the product choices either. I do have the Fugi 4 stage turbine system that I have used as mentioned for top coats and paint. I am hoping you fellas could comment on this schedule and offer up specific products. Here is a pic of the inlay on the race track

http://i258.photobucket.com/albums/hh263/jeffcjeffc/IMAG0117.jpg

I read the article by Jeff J on selective staining which talks about protecting the inlay. There are really two parts to this, 1 a good schedule for the finish (planning on transtint vintage maple) an 2 some tips on protecting the inlay. So here it goes

1). Have sanded to 220
2) protect the inlay with shelac several coats. Will mask the maple at this stage
3) remove masking from maple and mask inlay.
4) spray the dye. First ime doing this should I use water, DNA, or other
5) remove the mask and seal the project. What products here?
6) repeat the masking and apply some toners. Once again product advice would be a great help!
7) finish coats, yep products I can safely spray in my garage would be a great help!

Is this a good schedule for no inlay, omitting the masking steps?
Or file this approach in the trash and go with all experts suggestions!

But really any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks Jeff

Jamie Buxton
05-08-2011, 11:39 AM