PDA

View Full Version : Baltic birch inlay

Ron Chapellaz
05-07-2011, 12:31 PM
Just wondering if anyone has successfully done an inlay using 1/4" baltic birch plywood. I gave it a shot with my 35w with settings of 10% speed 100% power, and a second try at 5% speed 100 power. All I had was a charred mess with inconsistant depths, and my inlay not fitting in. Any thoughts or ideas? My guess is that this the wrong wood for this kind of project. This is my first time trying inlays. Thanks in advance! :)

George M. Perzel
05-07-2011, 12:48 PM
Hi Ron;
What exactly are you trying to inlay? First of all, your speeds are much to low-don't try to raster to a deep finished depth in one pass-invites constant burning in a poor substrate (baltic birch). Any ply is poor since its made of cross-banded woods and glue-inviting a very uneven surface. If you must use BB, use a thin inlay and laser only as far a you need in the top layer.
Good Luck
Best Regards;
George
Laserarts

Ron Chapellaz
05-07-2011, 2:12 PM
George,
I was trying to inlay a 1/8" piece of purple heart into 1/4" baltic birch. I followed speed settings from Epilog but their settings were for a 45w so I adjusted a slower speed for my 35. They had a setting of 15% speed with 100% power, which is why I started at 10%, then down to 5%. The depth was about 3/4 of what I needed to get the purple heart in. It did create an uneven surface, which is why I also thought BB might not be the best substrate for the job. I masked the wood as well but it burnt the edges very badly. Maybe instead of the purple heart I may have to go with a thin veneer. This was all just an experiment and to try different things with the laser. I appreciate the help!

Chuck Stone
05-07-2011, 2:52 PM
having done veneer twice now, I'm self qualified as an expert. :p

But I think using the laser to do veneer is gonna be tricky, mostly because
of the experiences you mention. Wood density varies (I wouldn't do it with