PDA

View Full Version : Need some guidance

Ed Morgano
05-04-2011, 12:49 PM
A while ago I made a segmented vase. I cut the parts out on my CNC and had the waste piece left. (shown right of the vase.) I've glued them up and now i'm going to attempt making a bowl.

I bought a Robert Sorby 3/8" Bowl gouge pictured below.

So, Here is my question.....actually I have more than one. First, am I flirting with disaster with the way I'm going about this? Is a 3/8" bowl gouge the right tool to use inside and out? This piece is about 6" diameter and 6" long. I did a glueup for the base and have the piece chucked on a 1 1/4" piece of walnut. Is there anything I need to watch out for using the gouge? I've never used one before and really don't have a clue. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

Scott Hackler
05-04-2011, 1:33 PM
Ed, that 3/8" Sorby bowl gouge it my "go to" tool and it gets used A LOT. I wouldn't have any problem turning every aspet of this "bowl to be" with that tool. Now I will conceed that I hone the edges all the time and dont use the tool straight off the grinder, but that it just me. I prefer a super sharp tool. I even use this gouge as a scraper by turning it on its side! Light cuts until round and then I would have that lathe turned up around the 1400rpm range and make a cool looking bowl. (keep in mind that I like and am confortable turning at that and faster speeds.

Scott Hackler
05-04-2011, 1:37 PM
Ed, I just checked your pictures again and have a couple questions.

1) did your make that wooden lathe???? How about some photos of that lathe and its internals.

2) I would be a bit leary hollowing that vessel out if that small diameter dowel is the only thing attached to the lathe. I would suggest turning that round bottom down into a tenon for the chuck. The torque on that dude is going to launch off that small dowel, IMO.

Tim Thiebaut
05-04-2011, 1:45 PM