PDA

View Full Version : Flattening waterstones

Dave Sharbaugh
02-03-2005, 10:34 PM
I'm new to this, but have a set of Norton combination waterstones. The 220 grot is hard to keep flat. What do you recommend? Diamond stone? Sandpaper on glass? The 220 grit really gets messed up.

Dave

Tony Sade
02-03-2005, 10:58 PM
Dave-Here's a current thread going on over at Woodnet on this very subject. Check it out. You might also want to do a search there and on other ww forums, as I've seen this subject come up before. (Moderator-I can post this link, right?)

http://www.forums.woodnet.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php?Cat=&Number=1391369&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=

Charles McKinley
02-04-2005, 2:57 AM
Hi Dave,

I flatten my water stones on my diamond stone.

Herb Blair
02-04-2005, 5:54 AM
I'm new to this, but have a set of Norton combination waterstones. The 220 grot is hard to keep flat. What do you recommend? Diamond stone? Sandpaper on glass? The 220 grit really gets messed up.

Dave

Dave,
I have the same problem with Norton 220 grit. I bought a second one, and use it to flatten, I alternate use between the two stones.

Steve Evans
02-04-2005, 7:04 AM
Dave

I keep a couple of small pieces of Corian countertop around for sharpening on. For flattening I throw a piece of drywall sanding screen and some water down on the flat piece of corian, and it's flat in a few seconds, with little expense.

Steve

Michael Perata
02-04-2005, 1:55 PM
Dave

I also have a set of Norton's. I bought a flattening plate from The Japan Woodworker and it does a great job of flattening. I keep it wet in the same trays as the stones and use every couple of minutes when sharpening. It is a bit pricey but it does the job.

http://japanwoodworker.com/product.asp?s=JapanWoodworker&pf_id=01.090&dept_id=12338

Dave Sharbaugh
02-04-2005, 11:15 PM