PDA

View Full Version : Ripping 2in beech on bandsaw?

ian maybury
05-02-2011, 8:08 AM
I got my wiring finished and the shop powered up yesterday, and finally got to run the Agazzani B-24/NRA 600 and rotary phase converter I bought late last year - so far on a 3/4in 3tpi bimetal blade. It walked through a 9in deep parana pine trial re-saw cut without a whisker of a drift, and I can't believe how smooth it is!!!! :)

There's a quantity (about 15) of 2in/52mm thick beech in planks 8ft long and 6 - 10in wide waiting to be ripped down to 4 - 5in for planing - some have cupped a bit.

I have a 1 in Lenox Woodmaster CT and think the band saw is probably an option to do the work on, but I've never done any heavy ripping on one before and don't want to accidentally damage the blade or the saw - or get bogged down in drift issues. The option is also available to rip the beech on my (also new) Hammer K3 perform panel saw (2,500mm slider) - but it'd need a ply or MDF sled running in the sliding table slot to make the required length despite its claimed 2500mm rip capacity.

I'm figuring that long and heavy rips like this on the band saw need a good pressure roller set up to keep it firmly against a (strong/well clamped) fence, so there's some set up there too. I'm not sure that the Woodmaster will cut fast enough to make it a realistic option either.

Has anybody done this sort of work on a band saw like mine, and is it a practical proposition compared to the table saw? Thoughts? The aim here is to get the job done safely and reliably - if it's likely to need finessing then it'd probably be better for me to choose another time to experiment.

Thanks

ian

david brum
05-02-2011, 8:58 AM