PDA

View Full Version : Found a few chunks of Boxelder Maple

Ian Jeffcock
04-30-2011, 4:00 AM
Thought you might get a chuckle out of this.
I was patrolling a few nights ago ( I'm a cop) and thought I saw something out of the corner of my eye. I turned around and saw this huge ( about 3 1/2 ft dia) butt shinning back at me from someones yard. Just couldn't help myself, got out with my flashlight to investigate. It was dark, but a quick sniff confirmed that it was boxelder. I boldly walked up and knocked on the door. A young lady answered the door, wide eyed at seeing an officer standing there, and a patrol car in her driveway. I quickly reassured her that there were no problems and tried to explain to her why I was so interested in her now deceased tree. It had been limbed and piled, but about 25feet of the trunk was lying there still intact. She explained that her husband to be, had felled the tree because it was old and dying. He had quit in frustration because he had discovered a nail the hard way, with his chain saw. I asked if she would like me to clean up the rest. She was pleased because they were not sure what to do with it. I asked her to not cut it up anymore, that I preffered it in long lenghts. So today, with my hand held detector and chainsaw, I cut it just enough to fit in my dumptruck. I guess using an excavator is cheating, but it sure saves on heat pads for my back. She was happy, and Im definately happy. I will make her a bowl or give her one that I have ready made. All in all, not a bad day.

Gary Max
04-30-2011, 4:42 AM
Let me make it offical----------------You suck.
That's cheating and just not fair------------you would not believe the wood I turn down because I can't load it.

Nice Haul

Dan Forman
04-30-2011, 5:03 AM
You and Hayes with your dump trucks and excavators...Scheesh! :)

So you were driving along and this tree mooned you from someones yard? :D

That is quite the haul, ought to keep you busy for a while.

Dan

John Keeton