PDA

View Full Version : First and second bowls. . .

Matt Evans
04-27-2011, 10:56 PM
Well, I am a spindle guy, but had finished up a few screw blanks and had some really green mulberry left over. So, I said what the heck, I will try to rig something and try a bowl.

The first one went ok, till I got a nasty catch. No saving it, so decided that bit of maple root I had laying about for a few years looked like a bowl of sorts.

If anyone has suggestions, let me know. I am new to this, and like spindles much better, but might continue doing a bowl or two occasionally if I ever get the right chucks and face plates.

John Keeton
04-28-2011, 6:46 AM
Matt, that was a first class catch!!! It really did a number on that bowl. Very interesting piece from the maple root - neat wood. At this point, I think experimentation is the best thing - just turn a bunch of bowls from whatever you can find until you get comfortable with the process. It certainly is far different than spindle turning. One suggestion would be to maintain the inside and outside curvatures the same. In this case, I think a simple round shape would show the wood better, and perhaps try for a little thinner walls. But, overall, a very rustic piece that really lets the wood show well.

Having a good chuck will make a world of difference for you.

Paul Williams
04-28-2011, 9:39 AM
Matt,I turned wood with a metal lath and three jaw chuck for a while before getting my wood lathe. It is much easier to rip a bowl out of a three jaw chuck than out of a chuck made for wood turning. If you don't have a faceplate, I would turn a piece of very hard tight grained wood into a glue block with a tenon sized for your chuck and as long as the depth of the jaws. The other end of the glue block should be wide enough to get good support and adequate glue surface on your blank. Good Luck I think you will enjoy bowl turning.

Chip Sutherland
04-28-2011, 2:58 PM