PDA

View Full Version : Using Boeshield t-9 for TS moving parts?

Mike Kelsey
04-27-2011, 3:08 PM
I'm setting up my new Jet cabinet saw & was wondering whether spraying t-9 on the gears - trunnion area & just letting it dry as a coating is a good idea or not?

Lee Schierer
04-27-2011, 3:57 PM
Unless it is wiped off Boeshield leaves a sticky residue that would not be good under the table where it would be exposed to sawdust.

glenn bradley
04-27-2011, 5:31 PM
+1 on too sticky for me. Getting all the residue off gear teeth would not be on my "want to do" list.

Brian Gumpper
04-27-2011, 10:32 PM
What they said. You only want to leave it on when storing something then would have to get wiped off before use.

I'm not an expert on lubrication but I would think putting a lubricant on a gear on a woodworking machine would only cause the sawdust to stick to it and gum it up bad.

Mike Kelsey
04-27-2011, 11:00 PM
So is a dry lube the best for the trunnion area?

david brum
04-28-2011, 1:04 AM
The classic lube for trunnion gears is aerosol white lithium grease. It goes on kind of like shaving cream and doesn't seem to collect too much crud. Comes with a long nozzle for getting into tight areas.

Brent Smith
04-28-2011, 9:36 PM
I like using a graphite spray myself.

Rick Lizek
04-29-2011, 5:07 AM
http://www.thehardwarehut.com/catalog-product.php?p_ref=258904
http://www.slipit.com/home.html
These are the ones we use in Commercial Woodworking...Slipit and Sprayway Woodworking Lube. Spraway can be used on saw table tops and router bearings.

Norman Hitt
04-29-2011, 7:20 AM