PDA

View Full Version : Tops for Library

Terry Quiram
04-26-2011, 8:36 AM
I support our local librarys childrens Summer Reading Program with tops that are used as prizes. I have been doing this for the last 5 years. This year I will also donate a lidded box and a special top to be used as the "grand prize" for one boy and one girl. I never hear from any of the winners but I don't care as I know it promotes reading. My thanks to the library for letting me participate.

Pete Jordan
04-26-2011, 8:55 AM
Wonderful job Terry!

Are you using the Decorating Elf on top of your tops?

I just got one and love it.

Steve Schlumpf
04-26-2011, 8:56 AM
Terry - what a great way to give back to your community! Bet the kids love the tops!

How did you color them? What finish did you use? Are they one piece or was the stem turned separate?

John Keeton
04-26-2011, 9:21 AM
Terry, great gift on your part! And, fantastic variety - I would have difficulty coming up with all the different ideas for these. I love the brightly colored ones.

James Combs
04-26-2011, 9:24 AM
Terry - what a great way to give back to your community! Bet the kids love the tops!

How did you color them? What finish did you use? Are they one piece or was the stem turned separate?

Ditto what Steve said and maybe give some average sizes. Some really nice work.

Phillip Key
04-26-2011, 9:40 AM
Nice! Ditto Steve's question about finishing them.

I made a couple of tops for my kids when I was starting to learn to turn. It might be time to check out the scrap box and see if I've got any potential tops in there!

bob svoboda
04-26-2011, 11:30 AM
Really a great effort and for a wonderful cause. Love the tops!

Art Manansala
04-26-2011, 11:39 AM
Wow, those are really awesome. I really never give Tops much thought - but you've really opened my eyes. Great work!

Art

John Hart
04-26-2011, 11:46 AM
Wonderful work Terry!!
I like the colors and the wood tone pieces both! Too Cool.