PDA

View Full Version : Chicken soak info needed

Ken Hill
04-24-2011, 1:34 AM
I take to heart everything yall post, so I grabbed up a few chickens to further my bowl turning endeavors.

I know about using DNAsoaking, but need enlightenment on the addition of the chicken. For a test run, I have a roughout in the coop with him...will post further test images shortly.

BTW...his name is Jake:D

http://kenhill.smugmug.com/Other/Private-Gallery-2/i-3VSjjWD/0/O/pe1_3398.jpg

I also wasnt sure about drying blanks, so I have a test blank being soaked by a chick as well....more evaluation to follow.

http://kenhill.smugmug.com/Other/Private-Gallery-2/i-6CgsH9G/0/O/pe1_3405.jpg

mickey cassiba
04-24-2011, 3:07 AM
I'm no expert on turning, or finishing, but I do know chickens...and Jake does not look happy, nor do the chicks.:(

Kathy Marshall
04-24-2011, 3:13 AM
David's the expert on the chicken soak thing, but I do know that a chicken with a name or cute little chicks are ineligible for use with the chicken schmaltz method.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-24-2011, 6:16 AM
This is Ken in Idaho.......looking down.......shaking his head.......:confused::rolleyes::eek:

Fred Perreault
04-24-2011, 7:43 AM
The only wood blank in the pics is square.... how'd ya turn it so square Ken??

Ken Hill
04-24-2011, 8:44 AM
The only wood blank in the pics is square.... how'd ya turn it so square Ken??

It got a duck soak before turning!

Mickey, those birds are very content. Most of them follow me around like puppy dogs. I free range but right now I have a mating pair of Red Tail Hawks on premisis.....

http://kenhill.smugmug.com/Other/Wildife-and-Nature/i-BxxbcSm/0/L/pe1_3350-L.jpg

Kathy, the chicks have no names.....but will, however the next batch of meaties is due any day and they dont get names:o Unless you consider "Broiler and Fryer" names assigned to the flocks! I wonder what wood goes with a 5 pound Cornish Rock LOL!

Lee Koepke
04-24-2011, 8:48 AM