PDA

View Full Version : Raising my son without Video Games

Paul Steiner
04-23-2011, 10:31 AM
Lately I have been thinking a lot about rules and policies for raising my son. My mother did not allow me to have toys that she felt were to violent, gi joes, suction cup dart guns, and definitely no BB guns. Looking back I do not feel as though I missed out on anything. I think I am not going to allow my son to have video games or strictly limit video games. Recently I have been thinking about alternatives. Legos, board games, RC cars, sports, scouts. I would be much happier to spend money on that than any video game.

As a high school teacher I come into contact with many students whose main focus is video games. When I say main focus, it is video games above all other activities except eating. Other students can handle the distraction but I do believe that video games are the number 1 contributor to childhood obesity. When I was a kid we would play pick up football games after school. Now kids setup online video games after school.
Bottomline I want my son to be active, I do not want him to be a slave to the magic box. I would really like to hear from other parents how they handle video games and their children. My main question is do you think my son will miss out on anything? Will he be the weird boy in school that does not have video games?

Craig Coney
04-23-2011, 11:05 AM
You didn't mention how old you son is. Scouts is definatley a good adventure for any boy and will help build values and character. My wife & I were leaders for the past 4 years, and stepped down when our oldest son crossed over into Boy Scouts.

Ask yourself how will you police your son's activities with video games when he goes to a friends house? Would it be similar to not allowing him to have candy & letting him loose in a candy store without supervision?