PDA

View Full Version : Spokeshave Blade--Can It Be Saved?

Noah Barfield
04-10-2011, 4:57 PM
Hi all,

I recently bought a wooden spokeshave. The body's in wonderful condition and I'd love to be able to use it some day. However, the blade seems to be badly damaged / worn.

However, I'm a total newb to woodworking, so the situation may look worse to me than it really is. The person I bought it from offered to refund my money, but I'd thought I'd see if it could be brought back to use.

Yesterday I contacted Donna at Rose Antique Tools. She has the exact same spokeshave in stock (same maker) and she sells NOS Hock replacement blades. I explained the situation and asked her to see if any of the Hock replacement blades would fit. Unfortunately none will.

Here are some pictures of the blade:

https://picasaweb.google.com/noah.barfield/SpokeshaveBlade?feat=directlink

Can it be restored or should I return it for a refund?

Thank you,

Noah

Matt Evans
04-10-2011, 5:33 PM
you should be able to still get some use out of the blade. The mouth will be more open, but that brass mouth-plate will be easy to duplicate if you want a finer mouth.

Also, that style blade is easy to make. Flat stock, tape to body, use a punch to locate your holes (through the top) drill, tap and insert two small machine screws.

As long as you didn't pay an arm and a leg for the shave, I would keep it personally. . .

george wilson
04-10-2011, 5:47 PM
The blade doesn't look very worn. You just need to clean it up,and put a straightened out cutting edge on it. You could make a wider throat plate from brass,but I think the gap isn't really wide enough to worry about,even after you straighten the cutting edge. Spokeshaves aren't as fussy as planes about needing a super small throat. I doubt you will ever wear that iron out. Spokeshaves just don't get the hours of use that planes do.

Harlan Barnhart
04-10-2011, 10:14 PM