PDA

View Full Version : Introduction

Scott Hamner
04-08-2011, 10:42 PM
Hello All,

I have spent a few weeks lurking and trying to pick up things without showing that I am a novice. The laser is a added addition to our store, we embrodiery, sublimation print, general gifts... The laser gives us an additional product personalization line.

We are starting to get comfortable with the basics such as pens, keychains, desk sets but haven't tried to get too complicated yet.

Now that the introduction is over, I have a customer who has seen our anodized aluminum business cards and loves them. They would like to order 100 wooden, maple color business cards. I have looked for a supplier of blanks without luck. I thought I had seen one on here, I have searched the forum without luck. Anyone have a recommendation.

Thanks
Scott and Djuana

Mike Null
04-09-2011, 7:39 AM
Scott

Welcome to SMC. Please list the kind of machine you have and the area you're from.

You might try Big Sky Woodcrafters or http://www.coloradoheirloom.com/

Dan Hintz
04-09-2011, 7:54 AM
Quick and easy... Lee Valley sells packs of 50.

Ernie DeMartino
04-09-2011, 7:58 AM
You could also try Chewbarka

Dan Hintz
04-09-2011, 8:39 AM
Chewbarka does anodized aluminum... he wants wood (I know, kinda confusing after his mention of Al).

Josh Richard
04-09-2011, 9:03 AM
wooden, maple color business cards.

I have had a lot of success using Baltic Birch ply. I can get a 5' x5' sheet for just under $10.00. A GOOD supplier would be willing to cut them to fit in your machine.

I spray the sheet with sealer then laser them.
Black background with white text will keep the letters raised but will take longer for the job to run but have a much better result in my opinion.

After I run the job, I glue a sheet of sand paper on some flat surface then lightly sand the card. A second spraying with sealer will make a real nice finish.

Larry Bratton
04-09-2011, 11:17 AM