PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Pipe Clamp Question

Jason King.
04-05-2011, 1:45 AM
Need some help - i'm new to woodworking. Just got a doze pipe clamps from HF (3/4" heavy duty pittsburgh), my first time using these. I know I should try to get black gas pipe, but I have two quick questions:

1) Is there a standard threading for this; that is, when I tell the guy i need 1 end threaded, is it standard or do I have to specify type of threading.

2) Can the clamps be changed out for different lengths of pipe or do most people lock them in (i.e. locktight). I guess I'd like to be able to have 3' & 6' pipes and switch them out on the clamps or will i need to dedicate a pipe to each clamp & affix them permanently.

Any help with this is appreciated. JASON (Littleton, CO)

Luciano Burtini
04-05-2011, 2:31 AM
Hey Jason

No problem with the threading, it is standard 3/4" NPT (there are others but they are not common). Also, you do not want to lock-tite the threads as you will remove the clamp ends to join pipes, etc. Simply screw them on. While your at it, get them to thread both ends of the pipe to give you you more options. A couple threaded couplers allows you to join pipes together to make longer clamps when needed. Protect the unused thread with the wire protection included with most (Pony) pipe clamp bodies.

Norman Hitt
04-05-2011, 2:40 AM