PDA

View Full Version : New miter guage question...suggestions/help needed.

Matt Gillam
04-04-2011, 11:47 PM
First off, I am pretty new to the creek, and it makes me happy to see that most here are friendly, happy, and informative when it comes to helping others, so as a reader, THANK YOU!
Also let me preface with the notes I now have Incra measuring instruments, the 52"TS/LS system, and the new MAST-R-LIFT II and am pretty sure I'd be an unpaid spokesman if asked! THEY ARE FANTASTIC!
Now for the question(s):
I do pretty 'basic' woodworking, and mostly make 90, 45, not even many 22.5 cuts(at this point), and right now the INCRA 1000HD is only $30 more than the 1000SE; is the individual degree detent worth the price difference?

I don't have a TON of tools, but I try to save and buy better ones when I can because I want them to last(Don't we all). Anyway, do many, if any, of you make many cuts that require more than what the 1000SE offers(every 5)? thanks, and YES I have read Tom's reviews of both...:) Thanks again in advance!

Matt

Josh Bowman
04-05-2011, 12:08 AM
Matt,
I asked the same when I bought my Incra Miter, and after reading some reviews, found that some folks found the extra detents more aggravating, so I opted for the simplier one. Having said that, you can still adjust the SE to any degree, it just doesn't have the detents made in to it.

Julian Tracy
04-05-2011, 12:43 AM
I have the Incra 1000SE and hate it. So tedious to adjust the stop.
- Loosen two screws,
- dis-engage racks,
- slide,
- re-engage racks,
- tighten screws.

It may not bother you much, but then when you use a normal miter gauge stop system that allows you to loosen, slide, tighten - done, you'll realize how much time you've wasted using the Incra.

Sure the precision is great, but I'd bet I get close to 1/64th inch precision at the worst using my Accumiter.

Still have the Incra, planned on selling it but noticed the plastic racks have broken edges so need to get the replacements...