PDA

View Full Version : Help with stanley typestudy

Thomas Laursen
04-03-2011, 9:24 PM
Hi everybody, I'm new here (but not to reading) and I need your help.
Yesterday I went to the local market, and very much to my surprise I found this no. 2. In my country wooden planes were the standard for many years, so when I see metal planes it is usually british made no. 4 or common block planes. For five years of rust hunting I think I have seen like 2 jack planes and 1 no. 6, so you can imagine how happy I am. This was really unexpected.

So my question to you is, what type is it?

I hope the pictures will tell all you need. If not I will take some more.
There aren't any patent dates on it anywhere. The lateral adjustment lever says just stanley, the lever cap has a B on it and on the frog there is a U.
I'm no expert in this, but I'm gonna guess that it's a type 8, based upon the pictures I found on RexMill.com, but i could be wrong. Can someone with more experience verify or clarify for me.

Not that it matters that much, because it's gonna be a user. I gave it a quick sharpening and it is in good condition, except from the broken tote and some pitting on the sole.
I'm just curious to know for some reason :)

Thomas

Stu Gillard
04-03-2011, 9:49 PM
This typing page leads me to a type 4
http://www.hyperkitten.com/tools/stanley_bench_plane/start_flowchart.php

Very nice in any case.

Greg Wease
04-03-2011, 10:26 PM
The Type studies are for the Bailey #4 and the #2 has a number of differences. The "B" casting mark would indicate a Type 8, no patent dates on the lateral indicate Type 9 or later and the logo on the blade is Type 10. Maybe you should just call it "early 1900's" and be very pleased with your find.

Thomas Laursen
04-04-2011, 12:30 PM
Thanks for the replies guys.
It's true that it doesn't really fit into a specific type, so "early 1900's" it is.