PDA

View Full Version : z axis dead

Mitch Richardson
04-03-2011, 7:01 PM
I would appreciate anyone's help on this.
I am new to CNC.
I have a torchmate 2x4 router and vcarve pro. I was cutting an intricate design that was running fine. I went to eat dinner and when I returned 45 minutes later the router had gone haywire. It seems that right after I left the z axis dove into the workpiece and through the table. Eventually it came into contact with one of my t tracks where it apparently became lodged. Now I cannot raise or lower the z axis. All the other axises move, except z. The motor makes a humming sound like it wants to move but then starts this bad skipping sound.
What have I done?

Thanks you in advance,
Mitch

Joey Jarrard
04-03-2011, 7:23 PM
If you have not already shut everything down do so. With the power off to the CNC, try to get the Z up out if the table and away from the t-track. When clear power back on and do your homing procedure (if your machine has one). If your z is still on the fritz check all wire connections. If all check out and there is no physical damage to the gearing or ball screw then you could have a drive going bad. (call the vendor)
Please keep us in the loop. I hope this helps.

Greg Bender
04-03-2011, 9:08 PM
This might be a little out of my normal range but I have been building and servicing CNC metal working machines for many years. Seems to me if the Z axis was in the table surface and those machines have hard and soft stops then something simple like a broken belt or a loose/broken set screw might be the cause.What else would let the z axis freewheel to a crash.And I ask that because I'm curious ,I've never been around a CNC router so I don't know how there built.
Mitch,good luck on your quest to find the root cause.
Greg

ed vitanovec
04-03-2011, 11:17 PM