PDA

View Full Version : Grain raising on oak plywood?

keith ouellette
04-01-2011, 6:37 PM
I have all the case parts cut for an Oak tv stand I am building. I was getting ready to sand them when i remembered that I was going to use a trans tint dye to color the project. Seeing its my first time using something like this I was going to dilute with water.

Does it matter how long before stain that you raise the grain?
should I raise the grain first before I assemble the case even though I won't be dying the wood for about a week?

Do you have to raise grain on veneer plywood?

how would you raise grain on plywood or any wood for that matter? Preferred method.

Jamie Buxton
04-01-2011, 6:42 PM
I use denatured alcohol with transtint instead of water. It raises the grain less.

keith ouellette
04-01-2011, 6:45 PM
I use denatured alcohol with transtint instead of water. It raises the grain less.

Doesn't that dry super quick? I am spraying the dye but I have never done this before so I want to play it safe.

Erik Christensen
04-01-2011, 7:04 PM
I use water soluble dye all the time on my cabinet cases. I spray dye and water poly after assembly. After 1st coat of poly I hand sand with 320 grit to remove any raised grain - works for me.

Jack Clark
04-01-2011, 7:47 PM
Hey Keith,

Thanks to Howie over in the Finishing Forum, I would like to direct you to this article by Steve Mickley:

http://www.hardwoodlumberandmore.com/Articles/ArticleViewPage/tabid/75/ArticleId/28/Pre-Raising-The-Grain.aspx

:)

keith ouellette
04-01-2011, 8:00 PM
I use water soluble dye all the time on my cabinet cases. I spray dye and water poly after assembly. After 1st coat of poly I hand sand with 320 grit to remove any raised grain - works for me.

Hey Keith,

Thanks to Howie over in the Finishing Forum, I would like to direct you to this article by Steve Mickley:

http://www.hardwoodlumberandmore.com/Articles/ArticleViewPage/tabid/75/ArticleId/28/Pre-Raising-The-Grain.aspx

:)