PDA

View Full Version : Lathe and Experience

Donny Lawson
03-27-2011, 9:02 PM
I've been here for a while and have seen some Awsome work from alot of talented people and I was just curious about how much turning experience you have and what kind of lathe you use to make those great looking pieces with? I myself have been turning for almost 3 yrs now and currently have the Delta 46-460 midi. I seem to be getting better every day.
Donny

Jack Mincey
03-27-2011, 9:26 PM
I think it is more what one does with both their lathe and experience that is most important. John has done more with his little Delta in a very short time as a turner than a lot of turners do in their life. I am looking forward to what he will create on his new lathe. To answer you question I've been turning some since 1976 and a lot since 2004. I now turn on a Oneway 1640 at home and a PM 3520, jet 1642, and a Delta 46-460 at the school shops I teach at.
Jack

Keith E Byrd
03-27-2011, 9:38 PM
I am a newby! I have had an old sears tube model lathe but used infrequently. I started getting more serious and trying to learn about 6 months ago and them my lathe broke down about 2 months ago. I just bought the Nova DVR XP and am rebuilding my bench to set it up. Anxious to get back on the learning curve. Hopefully by next weekend.

John Keeton
03-27-2011, 9:50 PM
Donny, there are far more variables than actual turning experience, and I don't think the type of lathe has anything to do with the quality of work one generates. It may permit larger work, or make certain tasks easier, but that is all.