PDA

View Full Version : Pros + Cons of low angle jack versus standard #5 jack

Brian Atkinson
03-20-2011, 6:25 PM
Hi All,

My next purchase is likely to be a #5 jack plane and I am tempted to make it a low angle jack but since I am new to hand tools I'd like some feedback on whether my choice is flawed.

I am leaning towards a LA jack simply because it seems more versatile. With a standard 25 degree blade it can function as a jack plane and still do double duty as a shooting plane on end grain. With a second blade with a high angle it will be able to handle more figure wood.

Just using the LN and LV LA jacks as an example. They're much cheaper than the #5 and a second iron for the LA jack is much cheaper than a high angle frog on the #5 (in the case of LN and their HA frog option).

But what will I be missing out on by getting the LA instead of the standard #5? Is there anything the #5 can do that the LA jack can't? Is there anything that #5 excels at over the LA jack?

Thanks for any feedback!

Johnny Kleso
03-20-2011, 6:37 PM
Pro: its a LA and HA plane, no tuning needed
Con its expensive considering a old Stanley No5 can be found for $60 in like new condition on ebay

What your missing is money in your pocket or another tool on your shelf...

For about 100 years LA planes where just for cleaning up butcher blocks and such thats why the old ones are so collectable..

Matt Radtke
03-20-2011, 6:42 PM
Also, it is my understanding that a LAJ isn't so good as a roughing or fore plane. A 5, 6, or woodie is more appropriate for that task.

Brian Atkinson
03-20-2011, 7:55 PM
What about the LAJ makes it not as good at roughing work?