PDA

View Full Version : servo's not suitable for engraving?

Rob Bul
03-19-2011, 2:06 PM
Hi All,
I have bought a big 150W Chinese laser (2,10mtr x 1.60 mtr, 82" x 63")
I'm new to this all and learning every day. ;) However, now i have a problem and i'm confused by the answer i got from my supplier.:confused:
When i want to engrave a text, there is a possibility in lasercut 5.3 to choose the option "bi-directional". Using this i get a ghost image (see photo). My supplier says it is not possible to engrave bi-dir. with my machine because it has servo motors installed. :confused::eek: She also says this is always the case with chinese systems and they can not solve this problem in a short term. Now the main reason for buying this machine was i want to produce big engravings. Doing this in only one direction will cost a lot of time. What should i do? Is there anybody out there who can shine a lite on this??
Thanks!!

Rob

Scott Shepherd
03-19-2011, 2:10 PM
I don't know why they would say that, Epilog and Trotec both us servo motors and both engrave in all directions. So if it's "servo" related, it's on their end, not because servos don't do it.

Rodne Gold
03-19-2011, 2:25 PM
Its not a servo/stepper problem, its a software problem , there should be a "backlash" setting which will allow bidirectional engraving.
However the machine you bought , saize and power wise , was designed primarily for cutting and not engraving , so if your supplier cant offer a solution for the bidirectional issue , you will have to live with it and use the machine primarily for cutting and slow engraving. The 150w glass tubes are not very good for engraving anyway, they have a large spot size and there are issues with preionization and low current firing.
You can try another control board for your machine ... retinaengrave , both software and a control board, not sure whether it will work with servo motors and your tube but ask em- $1000 or so