PDA

View Full Version : No confession here... making tools for woodworking IS fun

Cyrus Brewster 7
03-15-2011, 8:56 PM
Andrew Joiner started a thread yesterday about his joy of coming up with ideas and jigs to make his woodworking experience easier; and about how this is sometimes more enjoyable than the woodworking itself. Well... I enjoy both. I find the actual work, as Johnny Means put it, "soothing". I lose time doing it.

Anyway, over the weekend I was thinking about starting a thread on nearly the same subject - I actually mentioned this to my old man. When I read the title I started to laugh. What I was thinking about, though, was more on the subject of fabricating one's own "tools" to help with the task at hand - whether it be jigs or tool upgrades. I am a newbie to woodworking but have been working with my hands for most of my life. And since I am also new to the creek, I felt like writing this so as not to hijack Andrew's thread.

Along with some of my jigs pictured below, I have also built my own router table to the specs that work for me. (As an aside, the PRL with the Sidewinder attachment is absolutely awesome. I would find it hard to, but could, live without it. Being able to "up" plunge into the work with absolute precision has facilitated the production of some of the jigs).