PDA

View Full Version : Wood

Bernie Weishapl
01-25-2005, 12:13 AM
I just joined the list a couple of days ago. I have tried others but have not gotten much out of them. From what I have seen here so far I have already read posts that have helped. I am a electronic tech with the Federal Aviation Admin. Actually I am now the supervisor after have been a tech for 32 yrs. I also have a part time clock repair shop and do a lot of cabinet repair on these clocks. Most of them are 75 to 150 yrs. old. So I decided it would be kinda neat to build a clock. I have built 2 grandfather clocks which I sold one for $4200 and the other for $5100. The first was made of solid oak and the other out of solid walnut. Every piece was hand cut. Of course I had access to tools that I no longer have now since the gentleman has since passed. The kids took the tools back to the east coast and sold them. So I got some tools myself and would like to build clocks within my means. I have a Delta 10" table saw, Delta 9" bandsaw, Compound mitre saw, Craftsman router, and two craftsman scroll saws. I also have 3 sanders and would like to get another router that I could dedicate to stay with the table. I probably can't build the big grandfathers but can build mantle and wall clocks of different styles. Enough about that.

My question is has anyone bought lumber of ebay? There is a awful lot of good looking wood for what I think is a reasonable price. I have did alot of searching on the internet and found a lot of places. Can anyone give me some idea's where they buy wood from. All we have locally is Home Depot, Lowe's and our local Do It Center. None of which I am fond of when it comes to good lumber and prices out of this world. By the way my wife laid claims to the one scroll saw and does wood crafts. She is about to embark on trying Intarsia.

Anyway thanks in advance. Any help would be appreciated.

Bernie

David Klug
01-25-2005, 12:29 AM