PDA

View Full Version : Woodoc WOP

Richard Kennedy UK
03-13-2011, 10:40 AM
Anyone tried using it? How long does it take to dry between coats? I have never used WOP before but applied some last night today its 2.30 pm and its still tacky I need to put more coats on but it won't dry any help appreciated

Richard

Steve Schlumpf
03-13-2011, 10:58 AM
Richard - I am not familiar with that particular brand but have found that temperature and humidity play a huge role in how long it takes for WOP to dry. The poly I use is Minwax and is very water-like as far as consistency right out of the can. Applied thin, it doesn't take but an hour or so to dry when the temps are warm but can often take 3 to 4 when cool and damp.

If you can move the turning into a heated area - it may help.

I checked the Woodoc website and did not see WOP as a product. Most likely that is my error but are you sure it is WOP?

Bernie Weishapl
03-13-2011, 11:25 AM
Ditto what Steve said. Haven't used that brand but I have found if it is below 70 degrees it takes WOP a while to dry.

Richard Kennedy UK
03-13-2011, 1:24 PM
Yes its sold by Phil Irons the Vicmarc guy here in the UK

http://www.philironswoodturning.co.uk/shop201108b/index.php?categoryID=116&category_slug=woodoc-food-for-wood

I imagine it must be the temp its cold here at the moment although I brought it into the house hours ago and its still tacky I coloured the piece with spirit stains and used a bit of meths to blend the colours together could that have an effect? I assume you just wipe it on or in my case used a small art brush and then leave it to dry???

As for consistency its a bit like 2 stroke oil goes on nice but haven't achieved the required finish yet - when I do I will post a pic

might be in summer

Richard

Steve Schlumpf
03-13-2011, 1:43 PM
Richard - if the minerals spirits had not fully evaporated, I know from experience that will cause a problem drying! It will dry but will take a heck of a lot longer than normal.