PDA

View Full Version : MDF Question

Ronald Blue
03-12-2011, 12:32 PM
I am going to be building a ladder shelf for my daughter. It will be painted so there is no point in using a hardwood and covering it with paint. I was considering using MDF for some of it. Can it be edge glued with good results just like conventional wood? The deepest shelf will be about 20" so I will need to do some edge gluing. Does anyone have experience using it in this manner? I have never tried it on anything before. Is it suitable to use for the legs as well? Face gluing to achieve a thickness of an inch and one half. Thanks in advance.

Bill White
03-12-2011, 12:39 PM
I can't visualize a ladder shelf, and why do you need to edge glue when mdf is available in 4' x 8' sheets? Face glued legs will be fine. What thickness are ya gonna use? Help me help you.
Bill

Ronald Blue
03-12-2011, 12:50 PM
I wasn't aware of the MDF being available in 4x8 sheets. That would definitely save time. Here is a photo of what a ladder shelf is.186394

Jerome Hanby
03-12-2011, 1:24 PM
Actually the sheets I buy are a little wider than 48" and a little longer than 96". I thinks that's pretty standard for big sheets of MDF. I always assumed that was because the edges were fragile and likely to be dinged...

Mike Heidrick
03-12-2011, 2:53 PM
I am confused on how you bought it in anything smaller than 24X48? Sure you are thinking of MDF (think wood fibers and resin and wax). Were you thinking poplar?

Don Morris
03-12-2011, 2:59 PM
To answer your question about edge gluing MDF. Yes it can be edge glued with excellent results. Have done it a number of times. For instance, I edge glued one of the router tables I made. The surface was several thickness' of MDF.

Ronald Blue
03-12-2011, 3:21 PM
Menards has it advertised in their current flyer in lengths to 16' and widths up to 12". So it can be bought as boards as well. Here is the link to that page of their ad if it works.