PDA

View Full Version : SYP Alternatives for Bench Building?

Noah Barfield
03-11-2011, 1:13 AM
Hi all,

I'm relatively new to the world of woodworking. One of the things I've realized early on is that a bench would make this journey a whole lot easier. I've been looking at plans on line as well as those in Christopher Schwarz's book and have read that SYP is the wood of choice for bench building.

Since I live in Western Washington (near Seattle), syp is hard to come by. What would be a good locally available (Pacific Northwest) alternative?

Thanks,

Noah

Dave MacArthur
03-11-2011, 4:24 AM
Hi,
I just finished reading the Scott Landis book "The Workbench Book" for the second time. Actually, no one says SYP is the wood of choice... what I've seen is that ANY wood that meets a few requirements can be the right wood.
1. stable
2. hard
3. workable
4. cheap to get
5. available.

SYP is one that is used where it's available because it's cheap and meets the basic requirements. In Europe, Beech is what does it. If you can spring for it, maple is preferred in most places in the US for being available and cheaper than beech usually, and better than SYP.

However, I have read and seen in numerous threads here, and elsewhere, that Douglas Fir can do a good job for a bench if you buy the right planks. I would think that to be the most available and cheapest wood up where you are, and many folks have used it to fine effect.

Noah Barfield
03-11-2011, 1:11 PM
Thanks Dave!

Again I'm a true beginner here, so I was beginning to think somehow that SYP was the wood of choice. It's good to know that there are other options.

I'd love to do a bench in maple, but that's probably out of my price-range right now. I had never considered using Douglas Fir--I thought it would be too soft for a woodworking table. How does it tend to hold up?

Noah

fRED mCnEILL
03-12-2011, 12:26 AM
My bench is made of Dougas fir. It holds up very well.