PDA

View Full Version : Sanding sealer - Zinsser versus Minwax

JohnT Fitzgerald
03-08-2011, 1:30 PM
Thoughts and opinions on Minwax Sanding Sealer versus Zinsser Sealcoat? I have never used sealer before. This will be for oak treads going down into my basement. They don't need to be fine-furniture quality, but i would like them to look decent and to be durable.

Casey Gooding
03-08-2011, 2:22 PM
First question that comes to mind is- Why do you need sealer?? I find that many people apply it when it's not really necessary.
If you do need it, I would go with Zinsser. I only tried Minwax once and found that it took a long time to dry and wasn't very user friendly.

Steve Schoene
03-08-2011, 2:23 PM
Zinnser SealCoat is simply dewaxed shellac. Zinnser's unfortunate marketing tries to equate it with other sanding sealers. It works fine as a sealer since virtually all finishes will adhere to it, and it is quick drying. Nothing special as been added to make it easier to sand. It won't hurt your overall finish durablity. It isn't needed here either.

Minwax makes two flavors of sanding sealer, an oil based and a waterborne. These are your typical sanding sealer, which generally means it constains a stearate which makes it easy to sand. This is purely a time saving expedient (and devise to get you to spend more money) since it also weakens the finishing system, making it less water resistant and less durable. Sanding sealer, except for some specific uses under specialized catalyzed finishes, are mostly just a time saver, and waste of money, except for commercial operations where time is money.