PDA

View Full Version : Unisaw 36-816 right tilt

Craig Ryder
03-08-2011, 7:44 AM
I have a chance to buy a used Unisaw for $700 (about 12 years old.) I have been using a much smaller portable saw. I am a hobbyist and fairly new at it. The Unisaw is in great shape and has been used sparingly for personal use. I have been watching the local market for about 6 months and this is the best deal I've seen. The only issue is that it is right tilt. I have read a few things about right tilt but have not used one much. Is right tilt a major issue/deal killer?

Thanks,

Craig

Cary Falk
03-08-2011, 8:45 AM
I grew up with right tilts. I currently have a left tilt. I don't tilt the blade that much. It's a big deal for some. Me, not so much.

Chris True
03-08-2011, 8:46 AM
I don't think so, you can always move the fence to the left side of the blade for a bevel cut. I only ever bother if it is a particularly narrow board. To me, for the 99.5% of non-bevel cuts right tilt is better because your fence tape gives accurate measurement no matter what blade or dado stack is on the arbor...

Right tilt Uni owner.

Don Morris
03-08-2011, 8:56 AM
Also a serious hobbyist. I have a left tilt Grizzly 1023SL (L is for Left), bought after I had a right tilt contractor saw. The 1023 is a sort of clone of the Unisaw. That's how good a design the Unisaw was/is. I'm not an expert on older Unisaw's value. The Left tilt has some small advantage IMHO. When I was looking for a lower cost left tilt cabinet saw and someone offered me a great shape right tilt Unisaw for about the same price I paid for the 1023...that would have been a hard decision. Certainly not a deal breaker to me. A lot of great stuff has been made on that machine.

Chip Lindley
03-08-2011, 9:47 AM