PDA

View Full Version : LaserPro Spirit GX owners

Jeff Wilkins
03-07-2011, 10:28 PM
Hi everyone,

Been lurking for about 3 months now and finally had to post. I am a high school teacher and we purchased a Spirit GX 60W for our pre-engineering program for prototyping and also to create a revenue stream for our robotics program so we are not so dependant on donations esp when the economy takes a turn. I feel the documentation that came with the machine is terrible. It is a good teaching tool for my future engineers on how NOT to write a manual. If you own a GX I would like to talk with you about

1. cleaning of lenses, mirrors, parts etc. - how often etc., how to do it.
2. I am using LaserMaster v8.6 - should I switch to corel draw asap?
3. Settings for different materials
4. Rotary attachment
5. Positioning parts on the surface - keeping scale at 100% etc.

I wish there were some video tutorials for this machine, but I have not found any. Any help would be great.

Here are some of the things I have made just playing around so far. This is my first experience with using a laser.

Dee Gallo
03-07-2011, 10:48 PM
Welcome to the Creek, Jeff! It's great to see educators who are introducing the laser to their students. Your awards are quite nice for your first jobs - looks like you've figured out all the basics. I can't help you on the Spirit, but I'm sure someone out there will speak up.

Once you get going, I'll bet your shop stays pretty busy and pays its way in many ways. Don't be surprised when it veers off from robotics and attracts a bunch of other interest groups!

cheers, dee

oscar martinez
03-07-2011, 11:52 PM