PDA

View Full Version : Lets see how this goes

Trevor Howard
03-05-2011, 10:30 AM
Hi all, remember I am a newbie at this and probably are doing a lot of things the wrong way, but how else to learn :D

A bit of background, a good friend and a great Turner wanted to teach my daughter how to make pens a couple of years ago, long story short, she made a few and so did I, then she started noticing boys after I had bought a lathe from him. Me having other priorities the lathe sat gathering dust. About a month ago my friend found out he had cancer and is undergoing treatment right now and doing good. I felt pushed (read "I entered the Vortex") to get the lathe out and see what I could do. As luck would have it I manage to acquire some logs, nothing special, but it was free and I knew being green it would probably crack over time, but it would be good practice. So with a set of Harbor freight cheap tools, a couple of you tube videos later I turned a few things, nothing worth posting.
I learned quickly I was getting tired of changing the pulley for speeds and already had stretched one belt. So I modified it with a DC drive and motor, sweet, now when turning a bowl I can just reverse it and not have to stretch my back to reach over and around the tool rest.
Having several bigger logs than my swing and no Band saw (yet) I took 4 logs into work and had a friend cut them circular at 9.5". I have sealed 3 of them and plan to see what happens this weekend on the 4th one. Should be fun as you can see in the picture I have already evicted one squatter, not sure how many else are in there, I have Windex and kitchen towels.
Wish me luck, I will update as and when I can, I was told the wood is some kind of Oak.
Everybody have a fun and safe weekend, I know I will :D

Steve Schlumpf
03-05-2011, 10:47 AM
Trevor - have fun with it and be safe! Looking forward to seeing the results!

bob svoboda
03-05-2011, 11:48 AM