PDA

View Full Version : Turned Box with a stained glass lid

Greg Just
02-26-2011, 9:31 PM
Long before I started turning, I did a lot of stained glass work. For a long time I have wanted to combine the two and recently I did. While neither to box nor the lid are very fancy, it is my first try at creating a stained glass piece in a long time. The box is made from mullberry from Creeker Doug Swanson. I roughed out some green maple bowls today and plan to make lidded boxes out of them when they have dried.

Roger Chandler
02-26-2011, 9:46 PM
Great stuff there Greg! I like the mixed medium, and stained glass work takes a lot of skill and patience! I have watched some others do restorations on the windows of churches and boy it is a work of art indeed. That combination might bring you a lot of sales if you were to pursue it!

Steve Schlumpf
02-26-2011, 10:04 PM
That's a pretty cool idea! The stained glass works well as a lid! Looking forward to seeing more of these! Nice work!

Baxter Smith
02-26-2011, 10:08 PM
Very nice. That will make a great way to dress up some of your work!

Ron Bontz
02-26-2011, 11:23 PM
I never tried working with stained glass. I keep telling myself it will mean buying more tools. YIKES!

Justin Stephen
02-26-2011, 11:30 PM
I really like the concept quite a bit and your first execution is quite good. I'm thinking a darker wood with a rich color scheme of glass (the traditional deep blues and reds) would look pretty spectacular. I think I would make the handle a little smaller though.

Doug W Swanson
02-26-2011, 11:36 PM
That's a neat little project, Greg. I like it!

The mulberry looks like it turned out nice. I may have to try turning some on my next project!

Bernie Weishapl
02-26-2011, 11:39 PM
That is a really nice box. I like the lid feature.

Vicki Hayden
02-27-2011, 12:35 AM